The Global Geophysical Fluids Center (GGFC) was established by the International Earth Rotation and Reference Systems Service (IERS) on IERS's 10th anniversary day January 1, 1998, in an effort to expand IERS's services to the scientific community.


In 2009, the IERS directing board voted to restructure the GGFS to better serve the community.
Three operational special Bureaus (SB) have been selected, each responsible for research and data service activities pertaining to mass transports in the atmosphere, oceans, and hydrological systems.

A fourth SB, related to mass changes in combined systems, e.g. atmosphere and oceans has also been created. The new Non-Operational components contains models of the core, mantle, and tides that do not change regularly.


GGFC Administration

Global Geophysical Fluids Center: Chair Tonie van Dam
Special Bureau for the Atmosphere: Chair David Salstein
(Atmospheric and Environmental Research)
Special Bureau for the Oceans: Chair Richard Gross (Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
Special Bureau for Hydrology: Chair Jianli Chen (Center for Space Research)